Southeast Asian Library

Go to: Southeast Asian Collections

Collection

The Leiden University Library owes its worldwide fame partly to the Indonesian collections among the Special Collections. Students and scholars from all over the world have been attracted for ages by the incredible richness of the collections comprising thousands of manuscripts, photographs, drawings, rubbings and printed works, patiently collected during a very long period.

Among the collections from or related to Southeast Asia, the Malay-Indonesian collection takes a prominent place. This collection includes manuscripts, letters, photographs, drawings, maps, rubbings and printed documents. Manuscripts from mainland Southeast Asia, Birma, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, are well represented in the collection though on a modest scale.


Contact

Location
Witte Singel 27
2311 BG Leiden
Phone: +31 (0)71 527 28 14
E-mail:

Postal address
PO Box 9501
2300 RA Leiden

Delivery address for parcel post
Maliebaan 30
2311 CC Leiden

Regular opening hours
Monday to Friday 8h30 - 24h00
Saturday 09h30 - 17h00 uur
Sunday 13h00 - 22h00 uur
Please note:
Desk: Monday to Friday 08h30 - 19h00
Special Collections Reading Room 09h00 - 17h30
Modified opening hours:
Sunday 1 January, New Year's Day Closed
Sunday 8 April, Easter Sunday Closed
Monday 9 April, Easter Monday Closed
Monday 30 April, Queen's Day Closed
Thursday 17 May, Ascension Day Closed
Sunday 27 May, Whitsun Closed
Monday 28 May, Whitsun Closed
Monday 9 July to (inc) Sunday 19 August, summer recess:
- Monday to Friday Open: 08h30 - 18h00
- Saturday Open: 13h00 - 17h00
- Sunday Closed
- Special Collections Reading Room: Monday to Friday 09h00 - 17h00
Tuesday 2 October, day before Leiden's Relief Open: 08h30 - 18h00
Wednesday 3 October, Leiden's Relief Closed
Monday 24 December, Christmas Eve Open: 08h30 - 18h00
Tuesday 25 December, Christmas Closed
Wednesday 26 December, Boxing Day Closed
Monday 31 December, New Year's Eve Open: 08h30 - 18h00
Tuesday 1 January 2013, New Year's Day Closed

 
Last Modified: 22-06-2012